Under Construction

DSC_0542

(Painting by kind permission of WILD)

My life seems like 

a giant construction site

Things permanently 

pop up

that need fixing.

 

I keep 

my eyes wide open

for signs.

Not an engineer

nor an architect by trade

I dabble in self taught

solutions

and make shift repairs.

My ideas 

the nails.

My determination

the hammer.

 

Sometimes I lack 

the necessary equipment.

The nails come up short

the hammer falls to pieces –

grasping for straws.

 

Precarious results –

legs  trembling from the effort.

High strung –

The strain to keep 

it all stable.

Not many occasions

to admire the work.

 

Sometimes I think

if I sit a moment too long

I will be swallowed 

by the holes in the road.

Leave a Reply

