Image

December 21, 2013 Shortest Day of the Year and the first day of Winter

December 21, 2013  Shortest Day of the Year and the first day of Winter

Oh yes, the days have been getting shorter…such few daylight hours in the day but today it is official. I actually only notice this cause when I leave the house at 7:30 and return at 6:30 p.m. it is still or already dark.
Since yesterday, I am officially on holiday. For the next two weeks, I am free of time tables and can plan my days as I please. I had been counting down the days and never expected to feel so happy, as I stepped out of our office building. What a rush, after 10 months of work to have 2 weeks off!
Life has been so busy, that I barely noticed Christmas time was coming. For years and years, our Christmas tree was up from the 1rst of December till the 6th of January. This year I haphazardly pulled out and put up a few decorations at the beginning of the month and left it at that. (Maybe I will take my youngest today to get a tree).
But the tree is not the only thing missing. Up until yesterday, I had not even thought about presents or food. I find it strange today, that for years I crafted, baked and prepared in advance. But then again, I always had more time. Don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining – far from it. Change is good too and maybe now I will appreciate the time I get to spend with my family and friends much more than before. Time is precious and time spent well with the ones you love is always a gift. Sometimes we forget to be grateful for the little things!
Life is good!
With a little music, it is even better:

2 thoughts on “December 21, 2013 Shortest Day of the Year and the first day of Winter

Leave a Reply

