Dramatic Hamburg

Image

This past weekend I boarded a bus at 7:30 am which took me through two other cities to Hamburg. An excellent alternative to the shockingly expensive and delay-ridden Deutsche Bahn.  5 and at the landscape passing at a 100km/h, a time of peace and quiet…after a full week of work.

ImageH

Hamburg is just beautiful…amazing buildings, green and so much water! If I could, I would move there in a heartbeat. I used to think that the only other place in Germany, where I would like to live was Munich, but I changed my mind.  Jokingly it is said that Bavaria lies south of the Weisswurst Equator and that is partially true.  And it does have to do with the mind…the Bavarians are a different breed of people, more closed minded and a bit too religious for my taste, I guess, if I liked beer, I would like Munich just for the October Fest…in that I am so untypical German. 

Image

 

Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, is the second largest city in Germany and the ninth largest city in the European Union. It is also the thirteenth largest German state. The city is home to over 1.8 million people, while theHamburg Metropolitan Region – has more than 5 million inhabitants. Situated on the river Elbe, the port of Hamburg is the second largest port in Europe and tenth largest worldwide(according to Wikipedia).

Image

 

These buildings(except for the first one which is a church) are part of the “Speicherstadt”, the warehouse district.  Where all the goods like coffee, tea, carpets and the likes, used to be stored in this special part of town that was a customs area. Those buildings are being renovated and the area is being populated by bars. restaurants and apartments. Lucky, those who are able to afford these special places…with a view to the little canals, called fleets.

Image

 

And in between…always churches.

Image

 

Seafaring people and churches always go hand in hand…

Image

These red brick buildings make up for the absence of  trees so close to the sea…

Image

 

Even the view from the hotel room was perfect…

A wonderful short weekend, even if I spent 11 hrs on the bus!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dramatic Hamburg

Leave a Reply

