Image

Peaceful ===> too naive?

Peaceful....too thoughtless
In light of the new scandal of the NSA and its PRISM project, here is a little poem by Martin Niemöller(1892-1984 a German pastor and activist)…
it is easily extendable and applicable to our present time…governments infringing on our rights from all sides. When is enough enough?
Als die Nazis die Kommunisten holten,
habe ich geschwiegen;
ich war ja kein Kommunist.

Als sie die Sozialdemokraten einsperrten,
habe ich geschwiegen;
ich war ja kein Sozialdemokrat.

Als sie die Gewerkschafter holten,
habe ich nicht protestiert;
ich war ja kein Gewerkschafter.

Als sie die Juden holten,
habe ich geschwiegen;
ich war ja kein Jude.

Als sie mich holten,
gab es keinen mehr, der protestierte.

When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I wasn’t a Jew.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out for me.
….

photo taken in Kyllini, Greece

4 thoughts on “Peaceful ===> too naive?

      • Agree with you – in my homeland Denmark (I haven’t lived there for about 8 years) the parliament just passed a law in full agreement – so that the population doesn’t have a chance to know what they’re doing behind closed doors – public law they call it – it’s a blackout law…:-/

  1. Ever since 9/11, step by step we are losing our civil liberties! Yes they say it is “to our benefit and for our safety”, but it is all about control. Where will it lead, I have no idea and the bad part is that the youth today are more interested in superficialities, they don’t think that they need to fight for their rights anymore, because they are certain that all is ok.

Leave a Reply

