The total lightness of unexpected falling snow….

When I looked out of the window, the world was white….it felt a little bit like the introductory pages of Orhan Pamuk’s novel SNOW…not that I was snowed in or had to ponder the suicides of little moslem girls deep in Anatolia….but that stillness, the wonder, it never ceases  to absolutely amaze me!!!

When I walked my son to school, ankle deep through the virgin alabaster formation of perfect flakes, I found another reason for happiness,  I no longer possess a car and do not have to face the difficulties of getting from A to Z…I felt sorry for all those people stuck in traffic jams in their cars(unable to appreciate this unforeseen circumstance).  

The hush of the cosmos, filled me with delight and even the muffled sounds of neighbors clearing the sidewalks with snow shovels, tires spinning and the gleeful laughter of the children only enhanced my feelings of lightheartedness.

Just a perfect way to start the week!!! 

Image

2 thoughts on “The total lightness of unexpected falling snow….

Leave a Reply

