Small treasures…

No amount of money can buy you happiness.  The most it can do is make life a little or a lot more luxurious, or whatever term you want to give it.  The meaningful stuff can’t be found in your size nor to your taste.   

Some years the presents we all receive, may be large in numbers, but turn out to be lacking in content and purpose.  Other years it is the thought behind the the smallest gift, that sends tears to your eyes.  Some presents are not meant to please you, but impress others.  Some are mere formalities, bought out of obligation.  Yet others come from a need to easy a guilty conscience.  Some are complete mistakes.

I have received my share of gifts at Christmas and at other occasions, fur and fancy jewelry  they never meant that much to me( fortunately, cause I do not possess them anymore) but the greatest gift I received was my freedom.  I truly believe, it was not meant to be given like this, it was supposed to crush me and belittle me further and before it became reality, I saw it as an exile.  But it turned out to be a step into a sort of rebirth, a new beginning and unburdening sigh of relief.  

 

So, I no longer possess a house(wasn’t mine in the first place), nor a car or a piece of furniture collected for 26 years, nor the watches and ornaments on throat, ears, wrists or fingers but I have gained something much more valuable.  My future, however uncertain lies in front, for me to take charge of and shape.  My past, a collection of pleasant and very unpleasant pictures, is something that I can not change and frankly, do not wish to change, which one would be the one responsible to changed its course?

Freedom means free of a lot of things, like fear, wariness, blame, insults, false accusations and jealousy which bordered on the sick…free to make decisions and mistakes, free to treasure the days that remain, free to raise my boys into men who will treat their women as respected equals and to teach them that responsibility is not something we distribute left and right when things go wrong.Image

Free to be whatever…

free·dom

  [free-duh m]  Show IPA

noun
1.the state of being free or at liberty rather than in confinement or under physical restraint: 
2.exemption from external control, interference, regulation, etc.
3.the power to determine action without restraint.
4.political or national independence.
5.personal liberty, as opposed to bondage or slavery

 

4 thoughts on “Small treasures…

    • Thank you for your comment and the compliment. Since I can’t see who you are exactly nor am I able to open your site, I can not comment on your stuff. If you are part of a methadone program…I salut you for either your efforts in support or for your decision to fight your addiction.

  1. Hello! I’ve been reading your website for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the great job!

    • Hello to Lubbock., Tx!! Thank you so much for this kind comment of yours. You yourself are doing a wonderful job by presenting solutions and perspectives for people who need a ‘bit of guidance’.

Leave a Reply

